Nominating Committee Process

The nominating process

A major function of the upcoming constituency session will be to elect the six conference officers; 27 members of the executive committee, the governing body of SECC; and the nine bylaws committee members for the next quinquennium.

Our denomination has a representative form of governance and the conference nominating committee is very similar to the local church nominating committee. The process allows for every church in SECC to participate in the decision of who is elected to serve. Nominations will come from the nominating committee to the floor of the SECC Constituency Session meeting on October 7, 2018 for a vote by all delegates present.


SECC bylaws give clear direction as to the process and procedure of the selecting of the nominating committee and the function of that committee.

Make Up Of Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee

This video shares the purpose and function of the nominating committee.

The nominating committee is a standing committee of the conference.

The nominating committee has 27 members and six members are chosen by the various groups they represent:

  1. Two members of the executive committee are chosen. As there are a few members of the executive committee that are not eligible for re-election as they have served for the two term limit the names of Fabiola Guzman and Mark Johnston were selected.
  2. One person was selected by the executive committee to represent conference institutions (typically, this has alternated between Loma Linda University and La Sierra University). Yamilet Bazan, Vice President for Student Life, was selected.
  3. One member of the bylaws committee. Julianna Madison, current bylaws chair, is representing this group.
  4. One pastor of a constituent congregation is part of the group and Chris Oberg, senior pastor of La Sierra University church, was elected by the pastors of the conference.
  5. One representative of the conference board of education is part of the nominating committee. Amy Cornwall, conference curriculum coach, will represent this group.
SECC Nominating Committee Members • 2013-2018
Ismael GomezImperialMaleHispanicCalexico Spanish
Anna Moe Crowder***OrangeFemaleAnglo/OtherLaguna Niguel
Daniel GeliOrangeMaleAnglo/OtherAnaheim
Barbara Schneider OrangeFemaleAnglo/OtherLaguna Niguel
John Thomson OrangeMaleAfrican-AmericanWestminster Good Samaritan
Angelina CamachoRiversideFemaleHispanicRiverside Spanish
Ricardo EscobarRiversideMaleHispanicLa Sierra Spanish
Pam EvansRiversideFemaleAfrican-AmericanRiverside Kansas Ave
Larry Grimaldi***RiversideMaleAnglo/OtherHemet
Fritz GuyRiversideMaleAnglo/OtherLa Sierra University Church
Julihana Madison*RiversideFemaleAfrican-AmericanMt. Rubidoux
Marni StraineRiversideFemaleAnglo/OtherLa Sierra University Church
Sonia VillarruelRiversideFemaleHispanicRiverside Spanish
Steve Zurek**RiversideMaleAnglo/OtherCorona
John Brunt*****San BernardinoMaleAnglo/OtherAzure Hills
Ron Carter****San BernardinoMaleAnglo/OtherLoma Linda University Church
Robert HandysidesSan BernardinoMaleAnglo/OtherLoma Linda University Church
Raewyn HankinsSan BernardinoFemaleAnglo/OtherVictorville
Laurent JauwenaSan BernardinoMaleAnglo/OtherOntario
Andrea KingSan BernardinoFemaleAfrican-AmericanSan Bernardino 16th Street
Esther LeeSan BernardinoFemaleAsian PacificLoma Linda Korean
Stphen SiringoringoSan BernardinoMaleAsian PacificLoma Linda Indonesian
Michael WeismeyerSan BernardinoMaleAnglo/OtherLoma Linda University Church
Jonathan BlueSan DiegoMaleAnglo/OtherEscondido
Janice HenselSan DiegoFemaleAnglo/OtherSan Diego Central
Mary MendozaSan DiegoFemaleHispanicSan Diego Broadway Spanish
Dollis PetersSan DiegoFemaleAnglo/OtherSan Diego South Bay

Pacific Union Representative: Ricardo Graham, President

*Bylaws CommitteeImperial1Female13Anglo/Other16
**Education BoardOrange4Male14Asian Pacific2
***Executive CommitteeRiverside9African-American4
****InstitutionSan Berbardino9Hispanic5
*****PastorSan Diego4
Meeting of Nominating Committee

The first meeting of the nominating committee will be on August 12, 2018.  Their first task will be to organize the committee, under the temporary chair of the conference president, by selecting a chair, an associate chair and a secretary. Once the committee is organized, it will proceed on its own with the conference president, and the union president serving as advisors.

The bylaws instruct, “its meetings shall be closed except to hear persons who make prior arrangements with the chair” (Bylaws of SECC, Section 6.5.b)

Duties of the Nominating Committee

Duties of the Nominating Committee are to nominate:

  • A President
  • A Secretary
  • A Treasurer
  • Three Vice Presidents for Pastoral Ministry
  • A Vice President for Asian-Pacific Ministries
  • A Vice President for Black Ministries
  • A Vice President for Hispanic Ministries
  • Members of the Executive Committee
  • Members of the Bylaws Committee

Nominating Committee Report

Information from the committee will be posted soon as they complete their work.